TOP NEWS

Facebook Shows Users As Dead, Even If They Are Alive

Users of Facebook might be surprised to see that their accounts are telling people they are dead, after it appears either a malfunction or hacking at Facebook started showing users as "memorialized" on Friday afternoon. Users across the social media site were being told by friends and family that their accounts were showing that they had just died just around 1pm on Friday. It was unclear if there was any logic in which user accounts were displaying the "Memorialized" message, and it also appears those accounts were not fully locked out as normal "Memorialized" accounts are by Facebook when a user has been reported to have passed away. Those accounts typically require proof of a user's death (death notice) to be submitted by others to prevent abuse of the system.


LATEST HEADLINES

More Headlines

BROWSE ISSUES